Candy Canes on Cocaine

Hey guys! I know it’s been a while, but I promise there’s a very good reason for my absence. I was off doing bigger and better things…jk. I have been doing some exciting stuff however. First, I spent a good portion of last week in San Diego being wined and dined by the US Navy’s CEC Corps. They wanted to convince me about joining (secret is I’ve already decided it’s for me).

Image

New Sniper Range (So Cool)

Image

The Tug for a floating causeway 

Second, I started a new class this week about sustainable community development. I am very excited about the class, AND we are going to Chicago next week. So needless to say it’s been crazy, but not so crazy I couldn’t fit in some crafting.

Image

T-Walls at UMORE Park in Rosemount (remnants from a WWII ammunitions plant)

I am currently decoupaging some bowls with wrapping paper! I really love using Modge Podge, it feels like art class in elementary school; very liberating. The “Candy Canes on Cocaine” piece is made with swirls cut out of some wrapping paper I got for free from Interium on a school field trip in college. The paper was designed by some Mid-Century Modern designer, but I forget who specifically. 

Image

Scissors and wrapping paper, it’s that simple.

I love this project because it is so easy. All you need is a glass bowl (any glass bowl from a thrift store will do), wrapping paper with a pattern that can be cut out (flowers, balloons, etc,), scissors, and some Modge Podge. First, carefully cut out enough shapes to cover the bowl. Second, coat the back side of a piece with the MP, and place it on the bowl (I like to start on the bottom). Finally, coat the top of the piece with some MP to make sure it sticks. Repeat until the entire bowl is covered. Allow the MP to dry according to the product label. Finish the bowl with a clear coat. Be sure that the clear coat will make the bowl food safe if you intend to use it for fruit or something of that sort. EASY!

Image

This design makes me a bit dizzy while I’m working on it. Thus the name.

Now I should probably get back to class. Ciao!

 

Leave a Reply

